top of page

Even the Postman wears a uniform!

One Saturday afternoon I was at home alone with the 8 kids. And, as usual, there was plenty of commotion. Doorbell rings, kids answer. This time the visitor holding a postcard, written in English. We live in Belgium now, on a street called Dreve du Monastere.

“This is apparently yours” the thin and firm man kindly said in French. He was dressed in a pull-over and khakis. I said “thank you” as I looked more closely, definitely ours it’s in English. At this point I figured out the man delivering the letter was our neighbor – from the Monastery – and the post card had been errantly delivered to them.

I introduced myself and he did likewise, “Father David” he said, as he pointed to the small gold cross pinned to his lapel – as some indication of his priestly position.

We chatted for a minute and I found out there are 5 priests, in total, with 2 other nuns and a monsignor living in town. As he walked away, his gate was familiar. Of course it was, I’d seen him walking down the street over the years - he was our neighbor after all, but I just never noticed him.

It all got me thinking. These guys walking down our street are priests! Not that I would have treated him differently because he was, but I was astounded. I was surrounded by priests…and didn’t now it. Incredible!

Knowing he was Christ’s representative on earth, I probably would have gone up to at least say hello - as I am one who likes the religious. But, I hadn’t…because, I didn’t know he was a priest. After all, it’s not like you can see the tiny cross pinned to his lapel from 10 feet away.

But, I got to thinking….why doesn’t he wear his cassock? Why doesn’t he wear his collar?

I mean, the postman wears his uniform and my kids wear their uniform to school. The policeman wears his (so I can recognize his authority). Even the man who works for plumbing company drives a branded van and wears a blue jump suite… so we know him.

So, why not the priest? Why doesn’t the priest where his “uniform”.

If his responsibility here on earth is to evangelize the gospel and draw people to Christ, why doesn’t he, if for nothing else, wear his cassock to “promote” his work. Or, make himself more obvious in a time of need.

I mean imagine, in a world where no one even barley thinks about Christ anymore, not even on Sundays, why not wear your cassock when you go out if for nothing else than to remind people.


If your job is to draw people to Christ, why not let it be known?

On the other side, imagine the impact of not “branding” yourself… Can you just image how many conversions are left uncovered because people never even know you’re a priest? A small button on the lapel? Come on! That seems to be doing absolute minimum necessary. Aren’t you a man of God? If so, how about wearing your brand proudly?

Where heat, fear of Muslims, and other excuses could be used, that is not the case in our town - the temperature barely ever reaches 80 (23 in Celsius) and there are no Muslims to speak of. But, even if those were impediments and sacrifices to endure, what if wearing your cassock brought even just 1 more conversion and saved one more soul? Wouldn’t it be worth it? Christ said “pick up your cross and follow me.” If someone found you from your cassock and martyred you for being a Catholic, all the better – at least in God’s eyes, you’ve earned Heaven.

You never know what your outward sign is going to do. For example, the man who is now godfather to our oldest daughter started his conversion when met Fr. Dolan, at bookstore - 20 years ago in Cincinnati. They met thanks to a priest wearing his cassock. If Fr. Dolan wasn’t wearing the cassock, the reserved Rusty (now Godfather to our eldest) would have never even known to start a conversation with Fr. Dolan. But, since Fr. did have on his “uniform” Rusty mustered the courage to ask: “are you a priest?” That question lead him to coming to church, which lead to meeting his wife, which lead to the start of a family… which is now 12 (Catholic) children strong. You never know what good can become!

@Laymen – act Catholic. Pray your rosary letting your beads hang down publicly (but quietly), unashamed. And, kneel when you receive Our Lord in communion.

@Religious – wear your cassock and/or collar. Be proud of your position and remind people of the Church with your outward appearance, if nothing else.

Other Articles
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page